10
Aug
09

23 phrases that will help an argument go smoother

•    Please try to understand my point of view.
•    Wait, can I take that back?
•    You don’t have to solve this–it helps me just to talk to you.
•    This is important to me. Please listen.
•    I overreacted.
•    I see you’re in a tough position.
•    I can see my part in this.
•    I hadn’t thought of it that way before.
•    I could be wrong.
•    Let’s agree to disagree on that.
•    This isn’t just your problem, it’s our problem.
•    I’m feeling unappreciated. [Always, my craving for gold stars!]
•    We’re getting off the subject.
•    You’ve convinced me.
•    Let’s take a break for a few minutes. [If you can remember to do this, it’s extremely effective – especially if you’re having a big fight. After a break, it’s almost impossible to go back to yelling.]
•    Please keep talking to me.
•    I realize it’s not your fault.
•    That came out all wrong.
•    I see how I contributed to the problem.
•    What are we really fighting about?
•    How can I make things better?
•    I’m sorry.
•    I love you.


0 Responses to “23 phrases that will help an argument go smoother”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a comment


Just a Friendly Reminder

Content on this site is protected by American copyright laws. Please add a live link to this blog when quoting material.
August 2009
M T W T F S S
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Archives